Week 39. Washable Cosmetic Pads

Make up wipes, cotton pads and balls all come in plastic packaging and are often only intended for one time use. Not a sustainable way for the environment or our wallets to wash our faces or to take away make up. 

Last year, I eliminated this waste by switching to reusable make up pads made from soft cotton toweling.

white-pads
The pads I have, I use throughout the week and put the dirty ones in the wash basket to be washed in the machine at the end of the week. 

I like to use coconut oil as my make up remover- see Nuts for Coconut Oil. 

I find that they are soft on my skin and always feel better about not throwing the pads away after- they really do last! 

The ones I have are available from a UK site called. 'Love the planet' called washable cleaning pads found Here. I have also found a US site which sells them too. Found here on Etsy from TheGreenHaven here. 

Or you could try to make your own...

http://www.onegoodthingbyjillee.com/2012/02/make-your-own-eye-makeup-remover-and.html

eye makeup remover 7

https://mabewithlove.wordpress.com/2013/11/13/diy-reusable-cotton-rounds/

24FaceScrubbies

Leave a comment